Current Student & Staff Login

ALRA students at Carleton Hobbs Bursary Awards

Abbie Andrews headshotNamed after one of the most renowned actors in Radio, the Carleton Hobbs initiative has been in operation every year since 1953 and is run by BBC Radio Drama. According to the organisers, Radio Drama has built a solid reputation for "finding and encouraging those starting out on their professional actor lives" and has successfully "launched the careers of 184 outstanding graduating students".

This year, 19 accredited drama schools entered the competition for the BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award - including LAMDA, RADA, Bristol Old Vic, Arts Ed, Mountview, Oxford and more - which took place from Monday 6th March to Thursday 9th March. Each school sent up to four students, leaving a total of over 70 talented young actors who competed for the final five bursaries.

We are delighted to announce that ALRA South third year student Abbie Andrews has been selected as a finalist.

As one of the winners, Abbie will enter a contract with the Radio Drama Company for its autumn season where she will be given the opportunity to extend her actor training in a unique environment, working with some of the country's best actors and writers.

In the last 30 years alone, the Radio Drama Company - previously known as the BBC Repertory Company (or 'The Rep') and founded in 1939-1940 - has "been home to more than 600 different actors" according to the BBC, with past members including the likes of Stephen Tompkinson, Nina Wadia, Richard Griffiths, Alex Jennings, Norman Bird and Emma Fielding.

ALRA is incredibly proud of Abbie for this outstanding achievement and recognition of her talent. We look forward to seeing, and hearing, more news of her growth and success in the future.