Let The Right One In

Let The Right One In, a stage adaptation by Jack Thorne based on the Swedish novel and film by John Ajvide Lindqvist

Directed by: Elen Benfield and Chris Hill

Movement Director: Kate Coogan

This amateur production is staged by arrangement with Marla Rubin Productions Ltd


London-based Canadian producer Marla Rubin began her career working in documentary films.  Her multi-award winning stage productions follow documentary film’s tradition of speaking truth to power – by highlighting the transformative stories of society’s misfits and outsiders.

After obtaining the stage rights to the cult classic Swedish novel and film LET THE RIGHT ONE IN, Ms Rubin commissioned and produced the stage adaptation in partnership with the National Theatre of Scotland.  Following the production’s launch at the Dundee Repertory Theatre in 2013, Rubin transferred the show to the Royal Court and then on to the Apollo Theatre in the West End prior to its American premiere in 2015 at St Ann’s Warehouse in New York.  The production won Melvyn Bragg’s 2014 South Bank Award for Best New Play in the UK, and was nominated for 4 New York Drama Desk Awards including Outstanding Play. Ms Rubin has since produced the play in Australia, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Nicaragua, Norway, Romania and Sweden, as well mounting a tour of the USA.  Upcoming productions in 2021-22 include shows in Australia, Korea, and the United Kingdom.

Prior to this, Rubin produced THE MOUNTAINTOP at Trafalgar Studios in the West End.  The show won the Olivier Award for Best New Play in 2010, and transferred to Broadway’s Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre in 2012 starring Samuel L. Jackson.  The production has toured throughout the United States and Canada.

As her first theatrical venture, Rubin commissioned and launched the multi-award winning FESTEN at the Almeida Theatre and in the West End at the Lyric Theatre in 2004 (London Evening Standard Award: Best Director and Best Design (2004); Critic’s Circle Award: Best Director (2004); WhatsOnStage Award: Best New Play (2005); Sydney Theatre Award: Best Direction, Best Set Design, Best Costume Design (2005); and 5 Olivier Award nominations including Best New Play (2005), before transferring it to Broadway’s Music Box Theatre in 2006 and producing the play around the world.

Rubin is currently developing a comedy variety show for the London stage.


Paula Arguimbau as Eli
Imam Borono 3YN22
Iman Borono as Kurt
Charli Ray Bowker as Halmberg/Janne
George Burrows
George Burrows as Hakan
Lewis Eades
Lewis Eades as Jimmy/Jocke
Leah Eddleston
Leah Eddleston as Mum
Toby George-Waters
Toby George-Waters as Micke
katy kellerman
Katy Kellerman as Eli
Tom Kelly
Tom Kelly as Jonny
Oliver knowles
Oliver Knowles as Stefan/Nils
Brandon Mullins
Brandon Mullins as Mr Avila/Torkel
Charles Mutsaars
Charles Mustaars as Oskar
Dot Newton
Dot Newton as Mum
Kasey Thompson
Kasey Thompson as Halmberg/Janne
Liam Wheeler
Liam Wheeler as Oskar

Dates and Tickets Prices

Online advance booking price £7.50

Wednesday 24th November


Book now

Thursday 25th November


Book now

Friday 26th November

2.30pm and 7.30pm

Book now

Saturday 27th November

11am and 3pm

Book now

Academy of Live and Recorded Arts